Herbs and Spices

This is the inside of my spice cupboard.  I like to put the spices in clear jars because of the beauty of their color and texture. Plus it’s more appealing to the eye, which makes me hungry. Flavor is very important to me, there’s nothing worse than bland food.  Never stick to just the basic spices, try creating your own. It’s fairly easy, plus there are a ton of great spice recipes online. I enjoy learning about what spices go good with what food, while trying to come up with my own spice blends. I make my own Taco Seasoning, Fajita Seasoning, Herb Blend, Blackened Seasoning and other various seasonings depending on what I’m eating.  Some dishes have been successful while others have left my mouth on fire and not edible.  At least it’s a good laugh and you know what not to do for next time.

Some of the herbs I use in my blends are grown right in my garden. Having fresh herbs available right outside my house is something I look forward to every year. The smell is amazing and nothing beats fresh herbs. When it gets later in the season I’ll then start to dry the majority of my herbs.  I grow several kinds of Basil, Dill, Oregano, Sage, Curry, Parsley, Rosemary, Thyme, Marjoram, Chives, and Mint. I also grow Lavender, Lemon Balm, and German Chamomile, along with various vegetables. This year I’d like to expand my garden to include more herbs/flowers for cosmetic use.



2 responses to “Herbs and Spices

  • Nancy

    I love seeing the herbs growing in the garden, makes me anxious for summer and gardening. Do you dry all these in the fall?

  • Dream Bird

    How about today! Doesn’t it make you more anxious for summer gardening. I pretty much dry everything in the fall, but I also dry a few here and there throughout the summer.

Leave a Reply

