Litter in the ditches…

One of my favorite things to do during the day is just be outside amongst nature. It doesn’t matter what the weather permits, I will try to get myself outside to get some fresh air, go for a walk, and enjoy what the day has to offer. I recently moved to the country from living in town. While on my walks in the country I couldn’t believe how much garbage there has been on the side of the roads compared to when I would walk in town.  It was ridiculous and so much. I didn’t mind a few banana peels or apple cores, but a jar of pickles, bottle of vodka, cans & bottles of pop…really? It is that hard to just keep those things in your car until you find a garbage can?  Apparently it was and as I walked down that road several times during the week, I realized that no one was going to clean it up and the ditches would soon be consumed of garbage.  So I took it upon myself to do the job. During my walk I collected 2 bags of garbage (only within a mile of the road!).  I can’t imagine how much more I would have collected if I would have walked further. It made me feel good to clean it up, and to  help our environment breathe. I wonder though about these people who keep throwing trash in the ditches, what if trash starting piling up in their yards… 

Leave a Reply

